Autunno a Monaco

Getting up at 2:50 am for a 7 am flight out of Pisa airport to Munich (had to catch the bus that departs from Florence train station at 3:30 am to arrive at Pisa in time) was a breeze knowing that I would be picked up by Robert without any hassle of trying to find some sort of public transportation system to get me to my final destination. Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel, and get a high from creating functioning itineraries, planning the right connections ya da ya da, but it is a great feeling when some one does all the work for you and is waiting outside the terminal with open arms and the promise of a long German-style breakfast. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, Rob and I get along best over long cups of coffee and the pleasant silence that comes with being tired and happy in the morning.

To sum up our long weekend together, we went on walks/jogs (Robert is always thinking ahead because he knows if I don’t work out I will get grumpy, tired, cranky, bloated and rather than having to deal with me as a sour puss grumpy gus, HE kept suggesting we get outside for a stroll or light jog… smart guy) in the park near his apartment, visited the Franz Marc Museum, the Pinakothek der Moderne, Haus der Kunst, met some friends out for drinks, watched a weird movie in German that I convinced myself I could understand (false), and spent quality time with Robert’s parents and sister at a bier garten in the Englischer Garten. Catching up over big pretzels and cake in a prime people watching spot was the perfect Sunday afternoon activity.

This post will mostly consist of pictures as I should be working on 2 exhibition labels that are due this Friday for my Art and Objects in Context class (buttttt Kathryn, Elyse and I are meeting Robert and his friends (Sarah and David) in Venice on Friday for the Architecture Biennale, SOOO I have to get my work done by Thursday night! I know I know, life is so stressful….but really, the exhibition labels are due for my professor, Franziska Nori, an extremely intimidating, inspiring woman with an insane resume and current Director of the Strozzina. Basically what that means is, there is no room for error with this assignment. I’ve decided to write one label on a work by Andreas Gursky, Rhein II, because well you know how I feel about Germans, and I just saw this work at the Pinakothek der Moderne so I have it fresh in my mind. The second label will be on a video work by Pipilotti Rist because I love feminist artists and she is kind of crazy. Alright, enough yakking about what I should be doing, gotta run!

Munich in 5 days:

Beautiful walk along the river in Munich.

Kochel am See, about an hour outside Munich. Tranquil little town that also boasts the Franz Marc Museum.

Robert at his best. Slightly messy hair, great shades and smiling in front of a beautiful background.

Walk up to the Franz Marc Museum.

As a Museum Studies student, it is essential that I not only explore exhibition spaces but also visit bathrooms, bookstores and cafes to consider how a museum functions. Or maybe that's just a poor excuse to buy a post card and treat myself to lunch at overpriced institutions...

A perfectly classy museum cafe with gorgeous light coming in and views of the museum grounds. It is easy to see why Marc and other German expressionists part of the Blue Rider movement lived and were inspired to work in this area.

Robert's lunch choice: A ramekin filled with a mixture of lard, onions and apples sprinkled with parsley accompanied by sliced red onions and pickles. And of course a bread basket. Yes, I tried the bowl-o-lard but it didn't do it for me.

Perfect cream tomato soup with croutons.

Catching a few more minutes of sun before heading back to the city.

Hello fall. It was so nice to see trees with leaves changing colors, climb a hill and breath fresh air.

Robert's parents, Anke and I lounging at the communal picnic tables in the bier garten.

Die Familie

Anke and I blending in with the sleek exterior of the Pinakothek der Moderne.

A view of the central ceiling of the recently renovated building. The architect, Stephan Braunfels, divided the exhibition spaces according to themes of art, architecture and design. This central room has branches that lead to the varying wings. Also in the center is the ticket area, an opening to the cafe and book shop. When we arrived there was a performance piece going on. Great multi-functioning space.

Me and Robert's family checking out the exterior of the building at night. Great lighting warms up the sterile space.

Haus der Kunst

Checking out The Future of Tradition at Haus der Kunst, a show concentrating on Islamic Art, both contemporary and historical. While the works were fascinating, the layout was confusing. When considering art from such a vast timeline of ancient to contemporary, I think a clearer path for how to explore the exhibition needs to be suggested.

After the delicious tomato soup I had at the Blue Rider Cafe, I was inspired to make a carrot soup. With the addition of white onions and leeks, we shall call this "YELLOW Carrot Soup" as the color shifted drastically from orange to yellow after blending. I topped the soup with some home made croutons and a dollop of sour cream. Perfect for a chilly fall night!

Yellow carrot soup with (a loaves worth of) croutons topped with sour cream and snipped chives, also threw together some rice balls with left over brown right, chopped salami, filled with a piece of mozz, breaded with cornmeal and baked for 20 minutes. Cheese was perfectly gooey and was a great way to re-use our left over rice!

Nothing like saving a little cash and eating in. For me, it’s so much more fun to entertain with food at home rather than going out all the time. People feel that they can relax a bit more and I don’t know, wine is so much cheaper at the grocery store!

Allora, devo andare…

Will report next week on all things Venezia!! Ciao ciao!

About Lauren Raffaela

Ciao ragazzi, mi chiamo Lauren. I am writing from Florence, Italy where I am in school for a Masters in Museum Studies. When not in school I spend my days strolling the streets, trying to look like a local. I love to people watch, go jogging before the city is awake, have small talk with old ladies and am constantly stopping to read menus in restaurant and cafe windows just to see what they're up to. My favorite gelato flavor is noccioloso and I try to control my intake to one (or two...) a week. My blog focuses on my adventures and discoveries - both about this beautiful city (and country) and about myself. If you would like to touch base or have any questions please feel free to leave a comment on my posts and I'll be sure to get in touch. Grazie and ciao!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autunno a Monaco

  1. leandralyon says:

    LAUR! you guys look fantastic. and gimme some of DAT SOUP.

  2. Nicole says:

    Post that carrot soup recipe! And I love your penguin sweater, you cutie pie. You & Rob are adorable and Germany looks amazing 🙂

  3. Elyse says:

    um, you look gorgeous in every one of these pics, stop it. love this.

Leave a Reply

